REDWatch Information Summary on 2023 NSW Elections

Prepared for REDWatch Meeting 4 May 2023

Vote count Vote % Swing Seats Won Seats Changed Labor 1,738,081 37.0% +3.7% 45 +7 Liberal 1,259,253 26.8% -5.2% 25 -9 Greens 455,960 9.7% +0.1% 3 0 0 National 403,962 8.6% -1% 11 -1 1 SFF 73,359 1.5% -1.9% 0 0 0 Others 686,632 14.6% +3.6% 9 +3 +3	0					
Liberal1,259,25326.8%-5.2%25-9Greens455,9609.7%+0.1%30National403,9628.6%-1%11-1One Nation84,6831.8%+0.7%00SFF73,3591.5%-1.9%00		Vote count	Vote %	Swing	Seats Won	Seats Changed
Greens455,9609.7%+0.1%30National403,9628.6%-1%11-1One Nation84,6831.8%+0.7%00SFF73,3591.5%-1.9%00	Labor	1,738,081	37.0%	+3.7%	45	+7
National403,9628.6%-1%11-1One Nation84,6831.8%+0.7%00SFF73,3591.5%-1.9%00	Liberal	1,259,253	26.8%	-5.2%	25	-9
One Nation 84,683 1.8% +0.7% 0 0 SFF 73,359 1.5% -1.9% 0 0	Greens	455,960	9.7%	+0.1%	3	0
SFF 73,359 1.5% -1.9% 0 0	National	403,962	8.6%	-1%	11	-1
	One Nation	84,683	1.8%	+0.7%	0	0
Others 686,632 14.6% +3.6% 9 +3	SFF	73,359	1.5%	-1.9%	0	0
	Others	686,632	14.6%	+3.6%	9	+3

NSW Legislative Assembly (Lower House) Results 2023

Labor is two seats short of a majority in the lower house but has lots of options if it cannot agree with the Liberal / National Party opposition or the Greens.

The Independents are:

The previous independents

Alex Greenwich, Greg Piper and Joe McGirr have offered the new ALP government an assurance of 'confidence and supply' to ensure stable government and the passage of budgets.

- Sydney Alex Greenwich independent wins seat for fourth time.
- Lake Macquarie Greg Piper re-elected for fifth term.
- Wagga Wagga Joe McGirr retains seat held since 2018

The new Independents

- Wollondilly Judy Hannan surprise win for teal candidate from Liberal Party
- Wakehurst Michael Regan local Mayor wins seat from Liberal Party.

The changing hats independents

- Murray Helen Dalton former Shooters Fishers Farmers MP wins as an independent.
- Barwon Roy Butler former Shooters Fishers Farmers MP wins as an Independent.
- Orange Roy Butler former Shooters Fishers Farmers MP wins as an Independent.
- Kiama Gareth Ward former Liberal retains seat as independent.

The Greens

- Newtown Jenny Leong wins seat for a third term.
- Balmain Kobi Shetty succeeds retiring MP Jamie Parker.
- Ballina Tamara Smith third Greens victory in far north coast seat.

Information Soured from ABC NSW Votes -

https://www.abc.net.au/news/elections/nsw/2023/results/party-totals

REDWatch area Electorate Outcomes

Newtown - Jenny Leong wins seat for a third term.

First preference	Vote %	Votes	Swing	Margin
Greens Jenny Leong (MP)	54.0%	26,758	+9.9%	
Labor Party David Hetherington	30.5%	15,104	+1.9%	
Liberal Party Fiona Douskou	12.9%	6,365	-1.7%	
Sustainable Australia Christopher Thomas	2.6%	1,275	+0.8%	
Others	0.0%	0	-10.9%	
Informal Votes	1.5%	769		
Total Votes		50,271		
2 Party Preferred Preference count				
Greens Jenny Leong(MP) MP	62.1%	28,015	+ 0.7%	12.1%
Labor Party David Hetherington	37.9%	17,094		

Information Soured from ABC NSW Votes https://www.abc.net.au/news/elections/nsw/2023/guide/newt

Heffron - Ron Hoenig retains seat held since 2012.

First preference	Vote %	Votes	Swing	
Labor Party Ron Hoenig (MP)	49.7%	22,458	+7.4%	
Liberal Party Francis Devine	21.2%	9,597	-6.5%	
Greens Philipa Veitch	19.0%	8,559	+1.1%	
Independent Sarina Kilham	3.4%	1,538	+3.4%	
Animal Justice Linda Paull	2.8%	1,252	-0.5%	
Sustainable Australia Ann Godfrey	2.0%	889	+2.0%	
Socialist Alliance Rachel Evans	1.9%	878	+1.9%	
Others -	0.0%	0	-8.8%	
Informal Votes	2.9%	1,328		
Total Votes		46,499		
2 Party Preferred Preference count				
Labor Party Ron Hoenig(MP)	73.3%	29,757	+8.0%	23.3%
Liberal Party Francis Devine	26.7%	10,847		

Information Soured from ABC NSW Votes https://www.abc.net.au/news/elections/nsw/2023/guide/heff

NSW Legislative Council (Upper House) Outcome Results 2023

Donarting	Continuing	Now	Nour	Change	
	•		-	•	
Members	Members	Members	Counc	cil	
7	7	8	15	+1	
9	8	7	15	-2	
1	2	2	4	+1	
0	2	1	3	+1	
1	1	1	2	0	
1	1	0	1	-1	
0	0	1	1	+1	
0	0	1	1	+1	
2	0	0	0	-2	
	1 0	MembersMembers77981202	MembersMembersMembers778987122021	Members Members Members Counc 7 7 8 15 9 8 7 15 1 2 2 4 0 2 1 3	Members Members Members Council 7 7 8 15 +1 9 8 7 15 -2 1 2 2 4 +1 0 2 1 3 +1 1 1 1 2 0 1 1 1 +1 1 0 0 1 +1 1 0 0 1 1 +1 0 0 1 1 +1 0 0 1 1 +1

Composition of Legislative Council

Notes on the Table

The two 'Others' amongst the departing members are Fred Nile (former Christian Democrat) and Justin Field (ex-Greens). The Coalition members consist of 10 Liberals and five Nationals.

The Legislative Council consists of 42 members. Traditionally one of the government's members is elected President. The President only has a casting vote meaning votes are determined by the 41 members on the floor with a government needing 21 members to pass legislation. After appointing the President, Labor will have only 14 members, which means the new government will need votes from seven of the 12 crossbench members to pass legislation.

Information Soured from ABC NSW Votes -

https://www.abc.net.au/news/elections/nsw/2023/guide/lc-results

REDWatch Note:

Potential Alignment

This is a very rough guide to where members are expected to line up on ideological grounds but on many issues there is likely to be significant fluidity.

Party	Members	Progressive	Conservative
Labor Party	15	15	
Liberal/National Coalition	15		15
Greens	4	4	
One Nation	3		3
Shooters Fishers and Farmers	2		2
Animal Justice	1	1	
Legalise Cannabis	1	1	
Liberal Democrats	1		1
Total	42	21	21

On 4 May 2023, Labor Chris Minns is trying to find a non-government member (other than Mark Latham) to be Upper House speaker. The Liberal & National Parties are pushing back on an approach made to the Nationals Ben Franklin, a friend of Minns. Whichever block supplies the speaker will have to find an extra vote in the Upper House to win votes in the Legislative Council. The Speaker only has a vote if the count is tied.