You are here: Home / Media / Redfern in new seat of Newtown - Comment until 17 July

Redfern in new seat of Newtown - Comment until 17 July

A new Electorate of Newtown is propoposed in the NSW Electoral Boundaries Distribution which will include Redfern, Eveleigh and Darlington along with Surry Hills, Chippendale, Camperdown, Newtown, Stanmore, Petersham,Enmore and the western part of Erskinville.

The changes are proposed by the Electoral Districts Commissionersand suggestions & objections to the proposed  boundaries for electorates accross NSW will be accepted until  Wednesday, 17 July 2013.

You can see the boundaries for the proposed new seat of Newtown at Newtown (PDF) [803.3 KB]. Waterloo and Alexandria remain within Heffron. a map with all the proposed redistributiuons can be downloaded from

Once finalised the redistribution comes into effect at the March 2015 State Election. Any state district by-elections that take place prior to the March 2015 State Election will be conducted on the applicable 2004 district boundaries.