Log in

Forgot your password?
You are here: Home / UrbanGrowth, SMDA & RWA Plans & Activities / Government, UG, SMDA & RWA Statements / 2006 / MORE JOBS FOR REDFERN & WATERLOO - 2 March 2006


This Media Release was issued by the Minister for Planning and Redfern Waterloo on 2 March 2006 anouncing 26 indigenous jobs being created in the new ATP building construction.

Minister for Redfern Waterloo Frank Sartor today announced 26 indigenous jobseekers will start work this month on a $45 million project at the Australian Technology Park.

Mr Sartor said the jobs deal between the Redfern Waterloo Authority, the construction union and the FRH Group will provide jobs and apprenticeships in a range of trades.

“This $45 million building at the ATP will be home to two Australian Government research organisations and around 600 employees,” Mr Sartor said.

“This represents a significant boost for the local economy and the future employment prospects of these 26 workers.

“The FRH Group has also agreed to provide initial tender opportunities for Aboriginal owned enterprises.”

Under the Redfern-Waterloo Jobs Compact, construction contracts on State-owned land in the area must provide on-site work and training opportunities for indigenous jobseekers.

“This agreement has already created 19 jobs at the $40 million Carriageworks redevelopment at North Eveleigh,” Mr Sartor said.

The contract with FRH Group guarantees 26 positions will be set aside for Aboriginal people, including:

· Apprentice electricians;

· Plumbers;

· Sheet metal workers;

· Bricklayers;

· Labourers;

· Office staff;

· Boilermakers; and

· Landscapers.

Member for Heffron Kristina Keneally said the announcement is welcome news for residents of Redfern and Waterloo, where a third of families receive income support.

“These 26 jobs prove the Redfern-Waterloo Authority is delivering real job opportunities for indigenous residents,” Ms Keneally said.

The new building is the first to be constructed at the ATP in six years and is due for completion in late 2007.